Set Up Reminders, Sharing and More

                                                                                                      

Does your Calendar look different than what’s shown here? To fix this, switch to the new look!

*Calendar: Set up reminders, sharing, and more

Set up event reminders

By default, you receive an email and a pop-up reminder 10 minutes before each event on your calendar. To change your default reminder settings, follow these steps:

  1. Open Google Calendar.
  2. In the My calendars section, click the down arrow that appears when you hover over your calendar, and select Notifications from the drop-down.



  1. In the Event reminders section, select either Email or Pop-up from the drop-down.



  1. Enter the corresponding reminder time (between one minute and four weeks).
  2. Optionally, click Add a reminder to create a new reminder or remove to delete an existing reminder.
  3. Click Save.

Set up event notifications

By default, you receive an email message when someone invites you to a new event, changes or cancels an existing event, or responds to an event. To change your default notification settings, follow these steps:

  1. Open Google Calendar.
  2. In the My calendars section, click the down arrow that appears when you hover over your calendar, and select Notifications from the drop-down.



  1. In the Choose how you would like to be notified section, select the Email check box for each type of notification you’d like to receive.



  1. Click Save.

Note: If you select the Daily agenda option, the emailed agenda won’t reflect any event changes made after 5am in your local time zone.

Share your calendar

By default, your "free/busy" calendar information is shared with everyone in your domain. You can share additional information with everyone or just specific employees, or stop sharing all calendar information.

  1. Open Google Calendar.
  2. In the My calendars section, click the down arrow that appears when you hover over your calendar,  and then select Share this calendar.



  1. Select the sharing options you want to use for your calendar.
  2. Click Save.

View another user's calendar

If other users have shared their calendars with you, you can view those calendars. If a user hasn't yet shared his or her calendar with you, can can send a request to that person.

  1. Open Google Calendar.
  2. In the Other calendars list on the left, start typing a user's name or address in the Add a coworker's calendar field. In the list that appears, click the user whose calendar you want to add.



  1. If the user has shared his or her calendar, it appears in your list under Other calendars, and the user's events appear on your calender.

If the user has not shared his or her calendar, you'll see a page on which you can send a request to the user. Edit the default message if you like, and then click Send Invite.


Tip: To hide or show the user's events on your calendar, simply click the calender in your list.

Create another calendar

You can create any number of secondary calendars. For example, you can set up a calendar for your work group or team to share. Each calendar you create appears in your list under My Calendars.

  1. Open Google Calendar.
  2. Click the down arrow next to My calendars, and select Create new calendar from the drop-down.



  1. In the Create New Calendar window, enter a name for the calendar. You can also enter a description and location, select a time zone and sharing options for the calendar.
  2. When you're finished setting up the calendar, click Create Calendar.
Comments